The Magic Flute

som logogray 

Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto by Emanuel Schikaneder

Thursday-Saturday, November 10-12, 2011, at 7:30pm
Sunday, November 13, 2011, at 3pm

Tryon Festival Theatre

Fantastical and whimsical, The Magic Flute melds light-hearted and menacing elements in a fairy tale that sings with the power of virtue and courage. Tamino falls instantly in love when three attendants of the calculating Queen of the Night show him an image of her daughter, Pamina, who is being held by the sorcerer Sarastro. Dispatched by the Queen with an enchanted flute alongside a befeathered companion, Papageno, Tamino must rescue his wife-to-be by steadfastly adhering to his quest in the face of temptation, blazing fires, and punishing water. Misled by the Queen, Tamino discovers that Sarastro is not a wicked enchanter but instead a noble, benevolent force. The tangled story floats on Mozart's lofty music, and the show-stopping arias from the Queen of the Night defy gravity but never can restrain the force of love.

Sung in German with English supertitles

Artistic Director and Conductor: Eduardo Diazmuñoz

Director: Kathleen F. Conlin (member of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, a national theatrical labor union)

German Diction Coach: Sylvia Stone

Supertitles Coordinator: Dennis Helmrich

Chorus Master: Fred Stoltzfus

Scenic Designers: Wenhai Ma and Michael Franklin-White (member of United Scenic Artists, Local 829, New York)

Costume/Hair and Makeup Designer: Jessica Jahn

Properties Master: Amanda Williams*

Lighting Designers: Sean Murphy and Lara Wilder

Sound Designer: Chris Kurtz**

Scenic Charge Artist: Christina Rainwater

Musical Preparation: MiYeon Choi, Cara Chowning, Thomas H. Schleis, and Kyu-Youn Sim

Choreographer: Sara Hook

Stage Manager: Bridget Rosella Benton*

Technical Director: Linda Esperance*

Opera Technical Director: Verda Beth Martell


Tamino: Stephen Boyer and Lee Steiner

Pamina: Joo Young Bang and Aani Bourassa

Papageno: Joe Arko and Alexander Indelicato

Queen of the Night: Lindsay Eckhardt and Jackline Madegwa

Sarastro: Phillip Gay and Matthew Scollin

Monostatos/Stage Manager: Kyle Pollio

Monostatos Understudy: Dane Suarez

First Lady: Jacqueline Piccolino

Second Lady: Elizabeth Thompson

Third Lady: Cassandra Jackson

First Priest: Michael John Foster

Second Priest: Griffin Candey

First Boy: Anna Carr

Second Boy: Jessica Rundell

Third Boy: Megan Liles

Papagena/Seamstress: Yaritza Zayas

Speaker: Phillip Gay and Matthew Scollin

First Man in Armor: Dane Suarez

Second Man in Armor: Phillip Gay and Matthew Scollin

Chorus: Keshena Cisneros-Watson, Kara Moss, Alexandra Nowakowski, Katy Reiswig, Samantha Resser, Alexandra Rolfs, Douglas Balkin, Kristian Chin, Kristoffer Cleto, Charles Jordan, Daniel Judd, Carson King, Harry Raceala, Richard Schacht, and Richard Schonberg

Dancers: Mark Deler, Clara Byczkowski, Sally Hamer, Abigail Kaesberg, Chelsea Kiely, and Breanna Sacco


Flute: Karen Gallant and Jenny Shin

Oboe: Mary Simon and Elizabeth Sullivan

Clarinet: Vince Gilbert and Carrie White

Bassoon: Chihiro Kashiwakura and Michael Morthland

Horn: Natalie Douglass and Candace Thomas

Trumpet: Joel Cantoran and Katrina Kral

Trombone: Justin Brown, Adam Kosberg, and Carl Maragos

Timpani: William Mullen

Violin: Kristian Brusubardis, Daniel Colbert, Leslie de Leeuw, Rebecca DuVall, Emelinda Escobar, Lance Jessurun, Sungwon Jung, John Lusardi, Gloria Mo, Saewon Oh, Brian Ostrega, Ju Young Park, Michiko Theurer, and Jenny Yum

Viola: Luis Bellorin, Grace Householder, Jung Hee Kim, Alyssa Roggow, Rebecca Saul, and Tyler Webb

Cello: Mary Auner, Philip Bergman, Jiyeon Hwang, Laine Longton, and Christopher Pettit

Bass: Kelsey Buffa, Michael Meadows, and Jose Vianna

Production Staff

Assistant Conductor: Cara Chowning

Assistant to the Director: Kyle Pollio

Assistant Choreographer: Mark Deler

Assistant Stage Managers: Yeseul Hwang* and Ari Y. Wartell**

Associate Lighting Designer/Master Electrician: Kevin Pelz**

Assistant Costume Designer: Jess Gersz

Assistant Sound Designer: Beth Parthum*

Deck Carpenter/Automation Operator: Zeke Hafenrichter

Deck Crew: Donovan Diaz, Nora Foley, Julie Kovar, Allison Morse, and Christopher Williamson

Properties Crew: Phallon Boyd and Nick Narcisi

Wardrobe Head: Kendall Johnson

Wardrobe Running Crew: Colton Adams, Kristian Loy, Lauren Nitto, and Izis Molliendo

Hair and Makeup Running Crew: Maeve Devitt and Jessica Turner

Light Board Operator: Elaine Senft

Follow Spot Operators: Mark Fox and Tricia Wrinkle

Sound Board Operator: Brian Krause

Special thanks to Durst Cycle & Fitness

Special thanks to Bart Roccoberton for designing the bird hand puppets

*LEVEL21 MFA student

**LEVEL21 BFA student